Quick Links

Useful Links

Walgrave Primary School


Our Governors serve across two schools as part of the Walgrave and Pitsford Primary Schools Federation.

Our Governors meet at least once a term and oversee the work of both schools.

We have several working parties or committees in addition to the ‘Full Governing Body’ these include Finance and Personnel, Headteacher Performance Management and Standards and Progress.

Any vacancies in the Governing body are advertised locally and applications are invited from members of the community as well as parents.

Currently we have no vacancies for Governors.

Governors are elected on a 4 year term.



Chair of Governors Alan Denton

Alan has served as Chair of the federation since its adoption in November 2014. Prior to that, he was Chair at Walgrave Primary School. Alan runs a successful leadership and coaching development company and has extensive experience leading and managing organisations.  

Elected : November 2014

Re-Elected: September 2022

Attendance: 100%


Vice-Chair Eleanor Hacklett

Eleanor is a parent at Walgrave Primary School and joined the governing body in May 2019.  She has over 13 years of teaching experience across key stages 1 and 2, including experience in school improvement. She is passionate about ensuring all children receive an excellent, fully-rounded education and enjoy their schooling experience.

Elected: May 2019

Re-Elected: September 2022

Committee: Chair of Finance & Personnel

Attendance: 100%


Headteacher: Julia Hyde

Julia is the Executive Headteacher at both Walgrave and Pitsford Primary Schools.

Committee: All

Attendance: 100%


Staff Governor: Samone Cupper

Samone is a parent and a part-time teacher at Walgrave Primary School and joined the governing body in January 2020. She was Deputy Head of a primary school, with over 14 years of teaching experience before leaving to raise her family.  

Elected: January 2020

Committee: Early Years

Attendance: 100%


Co-Opted Governor: Steve Bonnell

Steve runs a successful electrical company, enabling him to advise on certain areas of Health and Safety. He is sometimes called in to undertake works, and as such this has been declared as an interest.

Elected: November 2014

Re-Elected: November 2022

Committee: Health & Safety, Premises

Attendance: 40%


Co-Opted Governor: Juliet Hodgson

Juliet is a parent at Walgrave Primary School and joined the governing body in January 2020. She is also an experienced primary school teacher with a keen interest in education. She is dedicated to providing children with a firm foundation during their primary years.

Elected: January 2020

Committee: Safeguarding, Child Protection

Attendance: 100%


Co-Opted Governor: Charlotte Neale

Charlotte is a parent at Pitsford Primary School and joined the governing body in September 2022. 

Elected: September 2022

Committee: Health & Safety, Premises

Attendance: 100%


Co-Opted Governor: Philippa Bates

Pip is a parent at Pitsford Primary School and joined the governing body in September 2022. She is an experienced SENDCO with in excess of 15 years experience working with children and young adults with a range of needs, in both the primary and secondary sector. Pip has a keen interest in education and is passionate about ensuring every child has the right experiences and opportunities to thrive at school and beyond. 

Elected: September 2022

Committee: SEN

Attendance: 100%


The Clerk to the Governing Body is Mrs Sara Myles and she can be contacted on bursar@pitsford.northants-ecl.gov.uk